On Highway 26, between Quesnel and Barkerville, Cottonwood House is one of the last remaining roadhouses. Like those before it on this historic route, it was built in the 1860s to offer accommodation, meals and provisions to miners and travellers on their journey along the Cariboo Waggon Road and became one of the most famous, known as a stopping place of high quality. Built in 1864 by John Ryder and Allen Smith, the early years of Cottonwood House saw changes in ownership several times. However, when John Boyd gained title to the house in March of 1874, stability was achieved, and the Boyd family remained to operated the house continuously until the fall of 1951.
Today, Cottonwood continues its traditions and offers heritage interpretation, accommodation and food to those wanting to explore and experience the Gold Rush Trail and its rich history. This wheelchair accessible provincial historic site will allow you to experience firsthand over 75 years of the Boyd family history and the many features this unique heritage site has to offer.